sugarrushlab

Sugar Rush Flavors: Red Velvet Dream

In Sugar Rush Flavors on December 7, 2009 at 12:28 pm

RED VELVET DREAM: A party in a cup. Rich red velvet cake topped with special pink cream cheese frosting and red sugar sparkle. P65 each. To order, e-mail sugarrushlab@gmail.com

When Tim told me that he was ordering a hundred cupcakes for the relaunch of Embassy Cuisine as Suite, I swear I thought he meant chocolate.

And when I SMSd him to ask if the event had a color scheme or if there was any special flavor they wanted, I swear I still thought he’d say chocolate.

But Tim asked me to talk to Kim and imagine my panic when Kim said, “Can you do red velvet cupcakes with pink frosting?”

“Sure,” I said, chewing on my thumb, forgetting that I had stopped the nasty habit of biting my nails years ago.

Then I called Jill and Giff and started hyperventilating.

But your Sugar Rush cupcake scientists never say  no to a challenge. We pulled all-nighters experimenting, doing taste tests, trying to create the perfect red velvet cupcake topped with the perfect cream cheese frosting. And when we found our secret formula, we used it over and over to create a hundred beautiful red velvet babies for Suite.

The cupcake got its name from our friend Le who was inspired to post the words “Red Velvet Dreams” as her Facebook status after eating one of our cupcakes.

Red Velvet Dream continues to be one of our best-sellers today.

We’ve discussed the possibility of changing the frosting from pink to white but the truth is, I like that it’s pink.

And I would like to keep it pink so it will always remind me of that moment of panic when I heard the words “pink frosting” leave Kim’s mouth and the moment of triumph when Jill finally mixed the perfect batch of pale pink frosting, turning what could have been a nightmare into a Red Velvet Dream.

Leave a Reply

